had i known…

I find myself, in this difficult journey, constantly thinking “if only I had known…”

Had I known that getting pregnant was no easy task, I would have dropped the birth control pill the moment I said “I do”, whether we were ready or not.

Had I known that it would be equally difficult, if not harder, to get pregnant with a second child, I’d have started sooner. I’d have called the clinic and started treatments as soon as I was clear to go again.

Had I known that three IUIs would fail, I’d have jumped straight to IVF from the start so that we didn’t waste all this time and money and energy.

Had I known that even though the journey feels easier when you have one child to hold and cuddle, the aching you feel to complete your family vision is still consuming.

Had I known that this may be my complete family: Husband, Son and I, I’d have cherished my son’s first two years so much more, trying not to blink so I don’t miss a thing.

About hotchildinthecountry

My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for about two years now. And so far, we've been unsuccessful. We've had two miscarriages to date, and at the moment are working with a fertility clinic to get this baby made! I hope that this blog serves as a reminder that if you are struggling with similar issues, you're not as alone as you feel.

One response to “had i known…

Leave a comment