that awkward moment when you bump into someone from your parents’ church at the fertility clinic…

So yesterday, as Husband and I were waiting for the ultrasound report, a very familiar ultrasound technician was walking by. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it at first, and then realized it’s a woman who goes to my parents’ church!

I hid behind Husband so she wouldn’t see me, but sure enough, she smiled and said ‘hi’. She was kind enough to not carry on a conversation. And I know her professional code swears her to confidentiality. But still… awkward, right?

Now, my parents know we have been going to the fertility clinic, but they do not yet know that we’re pregnant. I know girl-from-church won’t spill the beans, but it kind of puts the pressure on to tell them sooner rather than later, just in case.

Especially since Husband took yesterday’s appointment as the okay to tell everyone. Like, his entire hockey team. I thought it still felt too early to be that public, but it’s kind of sweet that he’s excited to share the news.

Now… we just have to tell our parents… And lie about where they’ve fallen in the order of ‘people we’ve told’.

30 years old and still lying to my parents… *sigh*

About hotchildinthecountry

My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for about two years now. And so far, we've been unsuccessful. We've had two miscarriages to date, and at the moment are working with a fertility clinic to get this baby made! I hope that this blog serves as a reminder that if you are struggling with similar issues, you're not as alone as you feel.

3 responses to “that awkward moment when you bump into someone from your parents’ church at the fertility clinic…

  1. What about those sonogram puzzles?

Leave a comment